Meet The Recruiter: Eilidh Black

Meet The Recruiter: Eilidh Black

10 November 2017

Linkedin shareMore

How did you get in to recruitment?

I graduated from Strathclyde University with an Honours degree in History and Politics but I knew that I didn’t want to go down the teaching route. I had a friend that worked in recruitment and I always enjoyed meeting different people and talking all day long, so I thought I would give it a try. Three and a bit years later, I’m still here.

What was your dream job as a child?  

I think, to be honest, my dream job changed every week. However, I think the most consistent was that I wanted to be a Spice Girl and I would settle for no less than Baby Spice! I remember always wanting to wear my hair in bunches to school so that I could claim the spot of Baby Spice every play-time.

How do you commute?

I’m actually very lucky and walk about 10 minutes to work every day.

What does a typical day look like?

I know everybody says that no two days in recruitment look the same, but it really is true! Usually I spend my day meeting different candidates and getting to know them, sourcing for my active vacancies, meeting with clients to discuss their current or future recruitment requirements and preparing candidates for interview.

I try to attend a couple of networking events a month which means I also get to meet new connections outside of my day to day role.

What’s the best part of your job?

I really enjoy when you get to meet a candidate at a pivotal stage in their career and experience this with them. As I recruit at the non-qualified end of the market, I often get to meet candidates at the early stages of their Accountancy career where they are passionate about progressing and just require that little extra support to get there.

I also really enjoy working with a candidate that is little nervous about interview and after some preparation you can see that they feel so much more confident in their abilities. 

What’s been your biggest success so far?

I would say my biggest success so far is moving out at 17 and being really independent at a young age. I always knew I wanted to move out and do things my own way, but it was definitely much more daunting than I had accounted for. Seven years and four rented flats later, my boyfriend and I are homeowners and it was the best thing I ever did!

What do you like to do in your free time?

I like to keep fit by going to gym classes (although I have been known to take periods of extended leave with this) and I love spending time with my friends - I’m happy to have quite a few different groups of friends from various stages in my life and they are all amazing in their own way.

I also really enjoy going out for dinner and drinks with my boyfriend and trying different restaurants as much as possible.

I love spending time with my family and two dogs back in sunny Ayrshire. My Mum and Dad are my biggest supporters and I am extremely proud of my younger brother and sister as they grow up into fantastic people.

What is most important to you?

As cliched as it sounds, being happy and having a sense of humour. I love my job and work very hard but also recognize it’s important to make time for yourself and step away from work. Being a recruiter, it’s easy to get into the habit of answering emails/calls 24/7 but I do believe it’s important to still make time to relax and let go of anything that has gone wrong that day.

I really like the quote that ‘almost everything will work again if you unplug it for a few minutes, including you.’

Describe yourself in three words.

Determined, humorous and thoughtful.


Written By Eilidh Black


Hi Craig Thanks for getting in touch Nice to hear about you. Do you want to send a CV over to I recruit within Accountancy and Finance but I can make sure it goes to the right person. Eilidh
Posted on Thursday, November 16, 2017 13:38 by Eilidh Black
Hi Eilidh, I’m Craig, and I’ve been in sales/ customer service for the last 20 years, the best part of my job is maximising and overshooting any sales targets set for me, whilst providing 100% customer service at all times. My dream job as a child was a professional football player (same as every other male in Glasgow)! I would commute to work by bus or train as I’m lucky enough to have both within a 5 minute walk, and takes me approximately 10-15mins from the city centre. A typical day for me is get up and start motivating myself for whatever the day has to throw at me, so I’m up for any challenge, and I love having fun with my team, when the time is called for. The best part of my job is identifying the customers needs, presenting them with a solution, always ask for the business and close the deal, and send the customer away delighted with whatever product they have purchased, so they will spread all good things about us by word of mouth to family, friends, etc. 3 words that describe me are; Reliable, Determined and Approachable. The cv I have on s1jobs won’t let me update it, but I have it updated and can send it to any e-mail address, so Eilidh hope ur having a productive and good day, and hopefully I will hear from you soon, I’m very flexible and punctual.
Posted on Monday, November 13, 2017 15:34 by Craig Ross
Hi Eilidh, I am out in Doha, Qatar working for Milaha, a navigation company. The role suits my skills very closely and am enjoying the job. Its unlikely that I will be back to Scotland for quite a while. Regards David
Posted on Sunday, November 12, 2017 19:23 by David Currie

Post Comment